Balancing Val

10 Responses to "Balancing Money"

Oooh YAY!

I’m terrible when it comes to money, I pretty much have a “if I have it spend it” mentality. I pay all of my bills on time, I just never saved any money.

When my husband and I were debating on buying his dad’s house we started acting like we had that mortgage and managed to save a nice chunk of money each month.

I think my biggest tip would be to cook at home, something I need to get back into.

I’m looking forward for this series!

Glad your excited to read!

I am going to heavily rely on cooking at home. This totally works out in my favor though . . . going to a culinary school and all πŸ˜‰ Im excited to come up with recipes from what I learn.

Oh Oh Oh!

I am such a horrible home taught cook. If you have time (and aren’t completely burnt out from cooking) could you do some sort of basic cooking posts?

HELL YEAH!

I’d love to πŸ™‚

I’m always spending money! The biggest thing I do to tell me is use cash for everyday things. I take out the cash I need for groceries,gas, and entertainment at the beginning of each week.

When I’m out, I’m done!

Oh absolutley!
I am a cash girl through and through. Doesn’t it just hurt more to give it up? Im sure you have some other great tips as you are in school too! Feel free to contribute, Id love to hear from you πŸ™‚

I’m with you. I actually make a hobby of being frugal and I have a lot of fun doing it.
I think the most important thing about being frugal is making your dollar work for you. Don’t buy lots of cheap things you don’t need because they’re cheap, buy a few quality things you do need. Ask yourself “Why” before each and every purchase. I’m excited to read this series!
And I love being a June baby, because Christmas and my birthday are spaced perfectly πŸ™‚

Yay! another frugalista πŸ™‚

me = jealous of your birth date.

By the time mine comes around, everyone is partied out and BROKE! oh well

Hey, I just found your blog this morning. I hit financial rock bottom earlier this year when I was living rent free with friends and still managed to overdraft my account (not so bad compared to other people, but bad enough to get my attention.)

I’ve been really good at making a budget and sticking to it with the help of mint.com. The biggest thing for me, was all the helpful advice from JD Roth’s blog, getrichslowly.org. Trust me, being frugal is not a bad thing, and it’s nice to see lots of other people who feel this way.

Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

I must check out that site you suggested! I like the simple dollar, squawk fox, and a few other ones. I’m glad you think it’s ok to be frugal, some people view it so negatively.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

