Balancing Val

Easiest Salad Dressing Ever

Posted on: November 1, 2010

I know this dressing may not be news to most, but I’m going to post it anyway since I use it a lot. This dressing combines the most simple ingredients to make a salad taste light, fresh and comes without any of the nasty chemicals that normal dressings do.

First . . .

Have all of these?


(lemons, salt, pepper, garlic powder, olive oil)

Juice your lemons. I used 3 because these were small, but 2 big ones do the trick too.

After discarding the potential lemon offspring (seeds šŸ™„ ), put the spices in. I have no exact measurements as everyones tastes are different, so just taste as you go along. Just watch the salt as the acidity of the lemon already has somewhat of a salty taste.

Start whisking in your olive oil. You want 2 times more olive than lemon juice. You may want more or less depending on what you like, but this combo works good.

Throw it in the fridge and when you are ready to use, shake it up a bit before putting some on your salad.

This usually lasts at least a week when covered in the fridge though I have been known to keep it in there without any problems for longer.

You can also use different flavor combinations by adding things like chili powder, onion powder or my personal favorite . . . Dijon mustard.

What do YOU put on your salad?

EDIT: I know I had other comments from Maria and Kristen, but they got eaten by the blogpress monster! I’m sorry about that šŸ˜¦

3 Responses to "Easiest Salad Dressing Ever"

i usually top it with salsa and guac…i’m a little obsessed šŸ˜‰

I love topping it with salsa from our favor Mexican place šŸ™‚ I totally forgot about that!

I need to make my own dressing. So much healthier!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

