Balancing Val

*Finding Balance* Val

Posted on: October 17, 2010

Hi! I am Val from Balancing Val.  

Val asked me to guest post for her while shes on vacation, and since I think shes awesome . . . I jumped at the chance.

……kidding . . . aren’t I always lately 🙄

^ my favorite picture ever, I kept jumping in front of the camera while we were playing mini golf while Chris tried to take pictures. Cracks me up every time.

Anyway . . .

I wanted to jump in and take this spot since Sundays arent the greatest day for exposure and it wouldnt be fair to my guest posters.

I never even wrote my OWN responses to the questions I was asking!? and I figure I would take up an open spot 😉 

So, shortly and sweetly . . . here goes . . . 

What is something in your life that you are struggling with that’s holding you back from having balance in your healthy life?

Honestly, there are quite a few things holding me back.  Id have to say the number one thing is LOVING AND ACCEPTING MYSELF THE WAY I AM .

Even thinking about the those two words ‘loving myself’ make me feel very uncomfortable, almost like Im not allowed to do such a thing or deserve to do such a thing. 

This is the reason I put myself last in everything.  This is the reason I don’t go after what I truly want even if it may not be what someone else wants. This is the reason I dont take chances in life.

What have you learned so far and what are the steps are you taking to overcome it?

I’m learning that just the mere fact of being alive is enough to deserve to put myself first.  With the help of this community and intuitive eating, I am taking baby steps, having lightbulb moments and forcing myself to be uncomfortable so I can work out these deep rooted issues and be on my way to my happiest self.

Its a long journey and I know this, but a journey I have started 🙂 A big thanks to all of you who follow me along no matter how random I may be!

PS . . . mine is way better than Chris’s attempt right? Come on . . . tell the truth 😉

2 Responses to "*Finding Balance* Val"

I struggle with over-indulgence and also denying/restricting what I eat. That’s why balance is something I’m seem to always be striving for. When I’m “on a roll,” I’ll be eating really healthy, and I’ll start cutting all my trigger foods out until I can’t take it anymore and then I’ll start binging on the foods I was denying myself from. It’s been hard for me to eat just small portions and enjoy the food– I tend to have panicky feelings over if I’m going to be able to stop myself from eating too much. It’s a work in progress, and I guess it just takes practice and self-discipline.

I completely struggle with this too… but I have to figure that it’ll get easier with practice.

Also? I’m not sucking up here, but your picture is totally better than Chris’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

