Balancing Val

Feeling Light And Airy

Posted on: October 14, 2010

Alright, you are probably all mega sick of me talking about anything to have to do with vacation but . . . TOO BAD SUCKA!!

I kid . . .

I do want to talk about something though, something I struggle with besides The Vacation Fat Cycle. I struggle with . . .

Eating

I know nobody is shocked, but you see . . . I have ruined almost every roadtrip, weekend trip and full vacation trips with my eating habits. This is why I was so incredibly proud of myself for turning it all around when I went to Philadelphia recently.

On every vacation we have been both cursed and blessed with the amount and variety of free food we have available to us. Our cruises offered anything anytime, while in Disney we had the luxury of a FREE dining plan in which we had dessert with breakfast . . . everyday. This of course, doesnt include the fact that we also went during the annual food and wine festival which was amaaaazing.

The problem was that we would completley stuff ourselves silly at every meal, every time. We would eat when we werent hungry for the sake of being on vacation and we would drink a fair amount on top of that. The first few days our adrenaline and excitement pushed us along until that started to wear thin. We began feeling, tired, sluggy and as jiggly as the barely covered boobs we saw walking around.

We didnt have energy, we were cranky, we were constipated, we stopped trying new things, and stopped particpating in fun events. We enjoyed ourselves of course, but I always imagine how much BETTER things would be if we werent uncomfortably stuffing ourselves.

And so every year I start coming up with ridiculous plans to avoid that sluggy feeling. 5 heavy lifting workouts, a giant bowl of fruit before breakfast, a huge salad before dinner, no sweets after 8pm, no meat . . . you name it! Of course this sets me up for an immediate backfire which is even stronger compounded with all my other body image/weight issues. Oh, its so not worth it.

This time I have no strict orders for myself. Just one goal . . .

Feel light more often then not.

Yep, thats it. When I feed my body what it wants, when it wants the result is that I feel light and airy and full of energy. When I feel light, I crave movement and fun. And Im absolutley SURE of it that there will be some times next week when I dont feel light maybe because I wanted to try something new but wasnt hungry, or a time when I found something I couldnt get enough of and ate until I was uncomfortable. And thats fine. I wont feel guilt because my goal gives me the “jiggle” room to make mistakes in the name of fun.

If I can make this goal, I have no doubt that this will be one of the best vacations ever! πŸ™‚

6 Responses to "Feeling Light And Airy"

Sounds like some good goals. But I can understand, while on vacation it can get SO HARD to not eat eat and eat.

I totally agree! It feels different this time though. I honestly feel like having fun is SO much more worth it then having FOOD in excess πŸ™‚ Once you truly believe that, its easier to make better choices

yay

Have fun!

Let us know how feeling light works out for you. (I have the exact same problems when traveling. My eating is compounded by all the fast food/chain restaurants I don’t have access to. Not only am I eating more food, but I’m not eating good food!)

I have a hard time when I’m away from home too. I do very well when I can control what and when I eat, but it’s hard not ‘splurge’ when you’re not in your normal surroundings.

I’m actually the opposite – when I go on vacation I tend to LOSE weight. Not healthily though. I’ve only been on 2 vacations (both times I went to Mexico) and both times I was with friends. Basically our days looked like this – party at night and drink way too much, wake up late, wander around hungover and not hungry for most of the day, party once night hit, repeat.

Yeah, not healthy. Your plan for your upcoming vacation looks much better than how I handled things. πŸ˜‰

Oh, that’s not good! But it is further proof that losing weight isn’t always healthy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

    • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
    • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
    • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

    Follow Me! @BalancingVal

