Balancing Val

Stat Drama

Posted on: October 13, 2010

I’ve been getting some help with finding out my true self worth and how I tie it to so many materialistic things that jump around like crazy. Whether it’s weight, finances or success they all have served as shields of excuses for why I act certain ways and put myself last.

I refuse to let my blog be one of them!

Starting a blog is intimidating. The blogs I first came across were the ones that are most popular. Of course that’s what happened, they have the most exposure.

I got to see how they live and how popular they are. I may have wanted to emulate some aspects of their blogs or their lives so maybe one day I can be popular too. I felt like thats what I had to do go be worthy to have my own blog. I realized I had a different life to share and wonder if I fit in this land of blog. Luckily I have learned quickly that though it may be nice, being ‘popular’ is not the goal I should have AT ALL.

I can proudly say that I am not here to emulate somebody else.

I absolutely fit in being my own special self.

I blog because I want to say what is on my mind and have a constant story going.

I blog because I think I am interesting and different.

I blog because I draw inspiration from other bloggers and sometimes my own self.

I blog because I like the supportive community.

I blog because some of my experiences are relatable to others.

I blog because it’s fun.

I have barely been in this game with this blog for 2 months and i have to admit, there were days that my stats made me feel as low as they were. Or there are times when didnt understand why I got a good amount of views on a post and no comments.

This doesn’t bother me anymore because I have learned something valuable that I think all bloggers should.

The number of stats and comments does NOT define the worth and value of your message.

Some people read and don’t comment. Some people don’t read on certain days or read certain posts. Some people don’t read at all!

THATS OK!

If your blogging purely for stats, you might as well post a naked pic of yourself dancing!

No matter what, these numbers mean nothing against what you have to say so long as you wrap your voice around every post. More then likely, people come to read your blog to get a good slice of YOU. That in itself is worth more then a million views right?

Maybe one day, things will change for me. I may have a successful blog that even makes money (NOT by posting naked dancing pics! πŸ˜‰ ) Maybe I won’t! Whatever happens, I will try not to let myself get wrapped up in the number game and be grateful for what I do have. πŸ™‚

Have any if you ever felt down because of stats and comments?

18 Responses to "Stat Drama"

I think I am going to start using the term stat drama πŸ˜€

I have felt down because of my stats, to the point that I have un-installed them (which you can only do if you are self hosted). I now only have Google analytics running and do my best to not even check that once per day.

I’m not sure what it is about those numbers that seem to matter so much. I remember recently, one of the popular girls wrote a post about dog poop and got well over 300 comments and there I was, my heart laying before my readers eyes and I barely broke double digits and I found myself comparing myself to her.

I’ve tried my hardest to make my blog a valuable place to my readers, no matter how popular it becomes and I know that when readers leave comments and send me emails, they are heart felt and that I am making an impact in the world. Some days it is hard to dig deep and lean on that but I do my best to try. Because honestly, I don’t want 300 comments about dog poop. I want open, honest and compassionate comments where I know the people actually read my post and care about me and my words.

Well then that 300 comment post was a bunch of shit! Ha ha get it πŸ˜‰ kidding.

I could imagine how that must have made you feel. I commented on it too which further cements the fact that comments and stats don’t reflect how important your message is.

I’m finding that commenting is also a matter of convinence for me. Sometimes I read blogs at work and to not get caught I’m super careful about which ones I comment on as to not get caught! Other days, I am in the mood to say something about anything and everything! It all depends on so many factors which is why I’m done getting wrapped up in all of those things.

I think you are amazing for always sticking to your guns and not losing your soul or your mission for the sake of popularity. I appreciate your blog as a haven for my uncomfortableness πŸ™‚

Awesome post. I have felt this way off and on throughout the years, as I’ve been blogging for two + years and my blog was never quite “popular” enough. When I moved over the summer, I really got away from that mentality and wanted my blog to really just be for me. I wrote hoping that I would help others, but at the end of the day it was just a representation of me, and a documentation of my life through food. I am okay with this now πŸ™‚

Great topic of conversation. Something we ALL think about.

Hi! Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

I think once we try and blog for stats and comments, a piece of our REAL self gets thrown away. Ironically, it’s when we truly DONT try that things may pick up. Either way, as long as you are blogging for the sake of you or helping others then that’s all you should do πŸ™‚

When I had over 30 pages views for the first time, I was so excited. When it happened again and people were posting I was nearly beside myself with glee.

Then the doubts took over. “Why aren’t I getting more page views? Why aren’t people posting every day? What can I do to get more traffic?”

Last week was especially bad because I was hardly posting and my stats went to zero for the first time in months. I had to remind myself the purpose of my blog. I’m not here to be popular, I’m here to help one person who feels hopeless about their relationship with food find their way to peace.

You are right, my friend πŸ™‚

Isn’t it funny when you get a day of high stats and instead of being happy and grateful, we immediately look for how we could get more?

Too crazy.

I think along similar lines to stat drama is comment drama.

Possibly a topic for a future blog post for me.

Great post! You are so right. It doesn’t matter the number of followers or comments per post. It is a place where I feel like I fit in as well. It is not my desire to be the most popular, but I hope I can encourage and motivate others who may be going through some of the same things.

Yep! And believe me you are! Whether you can ‘see’ the stats or not, people are coming in to see what your up to and maybe not all topics will be relatable, but one day something you say may resonate with them in a positive way πŸ™‚

Hoo-rah! This just goes back to not letting other people determine your self worth! you and only you can do that!

Personally, I love looking at stats. But I’m a stats girl–I think they are fascinating! I love seeing what posts drive people to the site–I love seeign what people are interested in. I love seeing what links people click on my blog. I love seeing the funny things people type in google that brings up my blog. I love seeing what leads people to my blog. its just interesting to me.

but i dont let it determine how I feel about myself. in the end, its just numbers.

LOVE this comment. Though I do find the stats fascinating, particularly in the arena of what links people click, I do get obsessed with it which is why I draw the line at looking at them only once per day.

I haven’t gotten any weird ones yet but I’m interested to see how things play out πŸ˜‰

Believe me, I will still LOOK at stats, but I refuse to OBSESS about them.

Thank you for such a motivational post, Val! Sometimes it is really frustrating and I’ll get down on myself for not having a lot of views in a day. Other times it is truly rewarding. But not letting blog stats define you or worrying about them is a work in progress for me and I feel much better after reading your post!

Your are right Maria, it is definitely a work in progress! It takes time to build a readership just like it takes time to build a friendship. You can’t expect it to happen right away πŸ™‚ just be yourself.

Val, I want you to know that although I haven’t been commenting on every post, I’ve definitely been reading them all! My Google Reader has slowly been getting more overwhelming and this is resulting in less commenting from me. Which sucks and annoys me but that’s life.

I find that I can definitely get a bit obsessed with my stats but I’m slowly starting to just do my thing and if it gets a lot of views and comments then that’s great. If not, well, it is what it is. Regardless of what happens I’m going to continue to blog because it’s enjoyable. If you blog simply for stats.. how is that even fun?

Right and there are SO many great blogs out there it’s IMPOSSIBLE to comment on every single post every single day! I get that, I do the same thing! And that is totally ok πŸ™‚

You bet I have. I see blogs who get readers by the thousands and my little stat bar looks so pathetic in comparison.
Thanks for reading though! We started out around the same time, so I kind of think of you as my blogging buddy. Thanks for writing too!

We ARE blog buddies πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

