Balancing Val

Eh, Why Not?

Posted on: October 9, 2010

After Thursday’s gratitude breakthrough, I have been on a high of some sort. I just feel happy. Yes I have a massive to do list and things I could be stressing about, but in the big picture . . . Life is good šŸ™‚

So I did something crazy . . .

I signed up for a 5k!

Yes, it’s in two weeks and I know I am not trained whatsoever for it, but it sounds like a good time and Why the heck not?

It’s held at the boardwalk where my usual runs are, and it is also a costume race. I’m debating if I am going to wear a costume only because I may not have time to put it all together. I had a great idea of chris being Mario and me being an ‘invincible star’ with something attached to me that sings the tune. I know you all know it šŸ˜‰


Oh and another awesome thing besides Chris doing it too is that so is my mom and my two sisters! They don’t plan to run either which is why it’s good that its a walk too.

Luckily, I was able to get to road runner to get fitted for some serious sneaks. They do this awesome free testing to see check balance, where you pronate and I even got custom orthotics! I ended up taking home these babies. I’m a fan of Saucony, very comfortable.



I was lucky enough to score some free stuff like socks, gu chomps, a hat and some pens since it was Ladies Night

I’m excited! Exercise is so much more enjoyable when you aren’t doing it for weight loss šŸ™‚

What do you think of me signing up for a 5k with zero training? Yay or Nay?

5 Responses to "Eh, Why Not?"

I say YAY! Go for it girl! I’m thinking about signing up for one too and feel like I just need to DO IT and stop thinking about it. Good luck!

I think you are AMAZING!!!! You are going to have so much fun and it doesn’t matter if you’re fully trained for it or not. All that matters is that you have fun. šŸ™‚

I still need to sign up for my first race one of these days but I just keep putting it off.

Definite yay! Now, if it were a half marathon or 15k, my answer might be different. But a 5k? I say GO FOR IT! And I totally think you should dress up. What a fun 5k!

ps. we were thinking of being the mario characters this year ourselves šŸ™‚

Yay good for you! You’re going to love it.

I loved my first 5K run. And if you run at all, you’ll do very well – it sounds like a fun one too! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

