Balancing Val

Gratitude

Posted on: October 8, 2010

If you haven’t already, check out the Self Discovery Word By Word Blogger Series on Ashley’s blog Nourishing The Soul.

The word first word of this series is GRATITUDE and what comes to mind when you see this word. I have to say I didn’t know what to write for this. Especially seeing amazing entries like the one from Katie but sometimes I get inspiration when I don’t expect it.

I haven’t exercised in almost 2 weeks. I don’t feel guilty about this, I swear. My body needed rest, it was raining, and the stars just didn’t align. However, this made me nervous to finally go out for a workout today as I was starting to make slow but steady progress in my running.

Mom and I decided to go to the reservoir which is always a good option. It was cold, empty and beautiful.


I told myself that I would only run for 2min then walk for 3min the whole time and if i got tired or couldn’t keep this pace, then there was absolutely no shame in walking. During one of the jogging intervals, I decided to not stop. I ran for 10min straight! I passed a family of deer on the way and I think my proud smile kept me going. I was so proud.

THEN I decided to do the same about 10min later. I put a good song on and just went for it. Can I tell you . . . I DIDNT STOP FOR 21 MINUTES! I made it all the way smiling through the hilly terrain to the very end.

I’ve NEVER EVER ran this long. This was big. I started thinking about why I was able to do this today and not any other day.

Well, the in two weeks that I didn’t exercise I took care of myself much better then usual. Vitamins, vegetables, relaxing, having a good time with friends, laughing, eating less sugar I believe that exercise is NOT the only way to take care of yourself.

Today, the sum of all of this added up to . . .

Gratitude

My body was thanking me for taking care of it! I think in this run today, I finally made the connection. If you take care of your body, it will show you GRATITUDE and take care of you! I would have never had the energy or motivation to do this had I not consciously made the effort in taking better care of myself the past 2 weeks. Again, something you already know but don’t necessarily believe until all of the lessons you learn snowball in your head until they click.

I believe that my body deserves this gratitude in the form of taking better care of myself. I put it through SO much hell in the past few years by dieting, overtraining, and hating it, and it always followed me through showing me signs as I ignored them in a quest of a newer ‘better’ body.

The lesson . . .

Show your body the gratitude it deserves the way it is RIGHT NOW or it will never show it back to you.


What have YOU done to show yourself gratitude?

3 Responses to "Gratitude"

What a fantastic post! I think it’s hard to remember sometimes to thank our bodies for all they do for us. This is a great reminder!

so true. And I love how you emphasize being grateful for exercise rather than complaining about it- which I admit, I’m guilty of.

Fellow Self-Discovery: Gratitude participant here, just stopping in to read and say hi. šŸ™‚

Love the connection you made, about how gratitude will go both ways — take care of your body and it will take care of you. (And caring, after all, is an expression of gratitude.) Great post!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

