Balancing Val

Yesterday, I Overate . . .

Posted on: October 7, 2010

Yep that’s true. I overate.

Let me rephrase that . . . Yesterday, I MINDFULLY overate. To be fair, I didn’t exactly set myself up for success from the beginning.

I was cramping pretty bad before work. When that happens, my appetite drains out like a sieve. So, all I brought to work was my spinach protein smoothie and nothing else. I immediately regretted that decision as my pain went away and my hunger started raging.

Caroline took me to lunch about 6 hours later. I had a Monte cristo wrap with fries and a cup of cream of potato soup. I didn’t eat all of it, but I definitely was bordering a 7 on the hunger scale by the end.

We went to Target before we had to be back at work, and we picked up some Halloween candy for our stash. Our stash included these babies . . .

Yes, PUMPKIN SPICE hershey kisses. They speak for themselves 😉

I spent the rest of the work day eating sugary candy. Each time I took some, I was absolutely conscious that I wasn’t physically hungry for it.

So, what was the result? . . . .

Obviously, I felt like shit. I had a headache, felt sluggish, and just had an overall sense of heaviness that I haven’t had in a couple weeks. I wasn’t a fan.

I’ll tell you what I didn’t feel though . . . .

GUILTY

I honestly didn’t. I ate out of pure boredom and I ate for taste. But I am learning that it’s ok!

It’s not the end of the world if I overeat. Overeating every once in a while is not a problem. In fact, its perfectly acceptable . . . . Really!

A problem arises when:

A: you overeat without being present (aka bingeing)
B: you overeat HABITUALLY

I always knew this, but sometimes it takes a while for something to resonate enough with me to embark changing my belief patterns. When I gave up dieting in favor of intuitive eating, I still held myself in a diet frame. Yes, eating intuitively 24/7 generally means you wouldn’t overeat anymore ever. So, when I called myself an intuitive eater and overate . . . I felt like a failure once again. It was easier to blame the process then myself.

The difference is that NOW I am conscious of the effects of overeating, especially sugar, and I don’t enjoy it whatsoever. I’d rather have more days of feeling energized then not. It’s worth it to me now.

I know that everything I am learning is serving as a non linear guideline. A guideline that gives me structure . . . but allows me to fill in my own rules based on what works for ME.

I realized that I tried to be a perfect intuitive eater this whole time. My diet mentality still found it’s way to wrap itself around a concept built so far away from dieting.

But you know what? . . . .

I now believe there is NO such thing as a perfect intuitive eater. More importantly, I also now truly believe that this is ‘perfectly’ ok.

How do you feel when you overeat?

7 Responses to "Yesterday, I Overate . . ."

Oh man. I’m not there yet – still in the stage where I don’t habitually overeat.

I wonder what it would be like to overeat and not feel guilt.

I want to know what that’s like.

And thanks for the reminder that there is no perfect intuitive eater.

I sincerely wish there was some button you could press, or some magic wand to wave, but there isn’t.

Just remember that everything that is happening to you now is a lesson even if it doesn’t feel like it. This will end up snowballing series of lessons and eventually something will click. SOMETHING will make it worth it to you to not want to sabotage yourself just for overeating.

It took me 3 months of intuitive eating for this to finally happen so just stay strong and present in your actions and everything will work out 🙂

YAY Val!

feel yucky when I overeat. Enough so that feeling lingers and then next time I’m tempted my little voice will pop up and say “Do you really want that? Remember the last time you ate when you weren’t hungry?” then I can make the decision to eat it still or wait and it the food item when I’m hungry again.

A lot of the time I feel really shitty when I overeat – sometimes just physically, sometimes just emotionally and sometimes both. It’s taken a looooong time but I’m slowly starting to realize that the world isn’t going to end if I overeat. It happens, it’s life, and it’s just something that needs to be accepted.

This all really strikes a chord with me, especially when you said, “So, when I called myself an intuitive eater and overate . . . I felt like a failure once again. It was easier to blame the process then myself.”

Overcoming similar thoughts has definitely been a challenge for me. But, the ultimate reward is so much better than agonizing over little struggles.

P.S. Pumpkin spice kisses? Kill me now…

Eating without guilt? That’s what I call progress.

Pumpkin spice hershey kisses? That’s what I call pure evil.

haha!

I think the whole concept of intuitive eating is the opposite of perfection!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

