Balancing Val

Stock Shelf Cravings

Posted on: September 30, 2010

I came upon an interesting thought yesterday, and I want to see what you think.

As you may have read in my Intuitive Eating Series #2, I decided against having a cup of coffee in the morning. I knew that if I had it, I wouldn’t like it because I didn’t have the necessary half and half.

I acquired some half and half that very night and this morning, it was ALL I was craving. And I mean that literally. Lately, I have been drinking a green smoothie (I’m sorry, I just can’t call them green monsters for some reason) EVERY MORNING for the past week. In fact, I think that it is one of the reasons I have felt more energized lately. This morning however, I did not want one at all. I asked my body AND my mind and it STILL didn’t want it. I actually even set up the ingredients to make a small one but all I could think about was the coffee.

Here’s the thing . . . Had I not bought that half and half yesterday, would I have been craving my smoothie?

Are some cravings simply based on what we have available?

Or is it possible that my body was phantom craving the 2 dangerous intuitive mind tricks . . . Caffiene and Sugar?


This isn’t the only time this has happened though. A lot of times my cravings are based on what the situation is. Or like the times I’m hungry but can’t eat what I want.

Have you ever had this happen? What is your take on the situation?

4 Responses to "Stock Shelf Cravings"

I get what you’re saying…like, did I crave Mex on the Beach just because I only had 3 more days to get it or because I really wanted it???

I think it’s like the power of suggestion. If I see something in a cupboard or the fridge, or on tv or someone eating it, I’ll probably want that instead of some obscure thing that isn’t around. Is this truly intuitive, or is it a form of emotional eating?

Very interesting–I’ve never thought about it, but I’ll find myself not craving a food until I’ve bought it and its readily available in my house.

It might be a survival thing. Maybe we’re wired to crave the foods that are accessible. Picky eaters may have been mostly weeded from the gene pool because they wouldn’t have gotten enough calories to survive a long time ago.

I wish I knew the answers…you bring up a very interesting point though. I had never thought about cravings simply because something is in stock. Great post!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

