Balancing Val

Lessons LearnING

Posted on: September 26, 2010

Yesterday was an an awesome day. Unplugging really made me realize how much I fill every gap in my day with the internet. I need to create some guidelines for this so I can stop and smell the roses while my life starts changing. Anyway, I also think it was especially awesome because it revolved around food πŸ˜‰

I’m not going to lie, I ate a lot. There were times that I over ate, but I was well aware of it. Part of me was just trying to enjoy the celebration, and another part of me was trying to do a little experiment.

Ever since my scary run in with sugar, I vowed to make a change for my health. I fed myself better and I faithfully took my vitamins all week. The result was that I ended up having MUCH more energy throughout work, I slept better and I genuinely craved exercise. As busy and as stressful the week was, things felt better.

Yesterday I ate things that weren’t so healthful. Fast food, beer, pastries ect. I actually don’t remember feeling a deep hunger all day, but I ate anyway. I had fun, but what resulted was 2.5 short sleepy type naps, fatigue, bloat and just a general feeling of gross . . . Not worth it.

I slept ok but woke up at 4am with raging heartburn and I did NOT want to get up for a workout this morning. I realized that it was my mind telling me not to go because of how drained my body was from what I did to it. Unhealthy craves unhealthy, remember? I went anyway and I’m glad I did. Running is getting easier and I am going farther and farther without stopping. It is bringing me joy πŸ™‚

I vowed yet again to feed my body better today and for the rest of this week, for my health. I felt so much better and even though I’m taking baby steps I’m learning a ton about what’s really important along the way.


Right now, I am sitting outside watching my sister play in a tennis tournament enjoying the fall weather.


Later, we will be having a cookie cake at my parents house for Chris . . . Last nights cake wasn’t enough πŸ˜‰

2 Responses to "Lessons LearnING"

im leaving a comment just because im in this blog

You should start a blog. Screw stalkbook! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

