Balancing Val

Get him to the Greek . . Festival

Posted on: September 26, 2010

One of the awesome things we did this weekend was go to a local Greek festival. Chris and I aren’t greek by any means, but we are totally in love with the simplicity and the flavors of their food. It was so awesome to finally go and experience something new in the area.


Nicole and I started out with a cold beer . . . It was hot!


We walked around checking out all of the vendors.


I ended up buying a good luck MATI bracelet which is supposed to protect me from evil eyes . . . šŸ˜ˆ


Then, we went in the dining hall for the foooood! Chris and I weren’t that hungry, so we split the short ribs that came with green beans, potatoes and a awesome Greek salad.


And of course we didn’t leave without checking out the home made pastries.


Before we left we saw some traditional Greek dancing which was pretty cool!

The birthday boy had a great time too!


We all had a great time and I can’t wait to do more things like this in the future!

Do you go to any local outings like this?

3 Responses to "Get him to the Greek . . Festival"

There aren’t any cool outings like that in my area so I’ve yet to experience something like that. Well, there was a garlic festival but I didn’t go to that.. not really my thing. Haha. The Greek Festival looks fun though!

That’s funny, I went to a Greek Festival this weekend too! The Greek Orthodox church in my parent’s town puts it on every year as a fundraiser. It focuses mostly on food and the line is always around the block. This year I got my usual gyro with tzatziki, some dolmathes (is that how you spell that?) and this cheese pie thing that was amazing. Hubby got all that plus the best slouvaki on the planet, then we shared a custard pastry thing. Ogden is big on local festivals like this. I guess the Harvest Moon festival went down this weekend too, but I didn’t make it because I was too busy chowing down Greek food:)

I love greek food!! All of that food looks delicious! I do go to events like that every now and then. There’s a veggie fest that I attend every year, but I have no self control and always leave feeling sick!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

