Balancing Val

Time For Being Alive

Posted on: September 17, 2010

Last night I got my butt out of the apartment to accomplish 2 errands that were pretty urgent. As I left the house, the skies got really dark and a HUGE storm hit. The power went out as I was in a store. I left and came home because I don’t like driving in storms and the other thing I had to do was something important on the master computer at my parents house. So nothing got accomplished.

Our power was back on at that point but Chris decided to take my iPad and strive to be back on the global list for the top winners on Wheel of Fortune App šŸ™„

I took this as an opportunity to do something unplugged. I grabbed a Geneen Roth book and a highlighter and started reading.

Now I love my iPad, but sometimes the feel of a book . . . turning the pages and visually seeing how far you have come and how far you need to go pales in comparison to digital book readers.

I ended up highlighting a lot of things in the chapter I left off on. I really like the way she writes. I love the way she is completely raw about her experiences no matter how embarrassing they may be. She tells you what she has learned while telling snippets of how she learned them, she tells you about how many people doubt her and her methods, and I find that very valuable. She makes you feel like you are ok in the space you are at right now and that you deserve to breathe, love and be present.

One of the things I read tonight really hit home. Especially with all of the mental discussion on self care. This is from her book Breaking Free From Emotional Eating which used to be breaking free from compulsive eating.

“Deserving time for yourself is not a function of how smart or pretty or thin you are. Deserving time for yourself is not a function of how much you did or didn’t accomplish that day. Deserving time for yourself is a function of the fact that you are alive and deserve to have time for yourself.”

There it is, plain and simple. Time for yourself is not a REWARD. It is not something that you deserve for AESTHETICS. It is not something you are entitled to after any kind of WORK. Being able to take time for yourself exists simply because YOU exist.

Now, its time to believe it and live it . . .

I got a fun weekend planned that includes a much needed girls night out! šŸ™‚

5 Responses to "Time For Being Alive"

I laughing right now because the possibly related posts from wordpress include one on hurricane seasons and storm survival kits. (Now I know how random people end op on my blog.)

When I first read Geneen Roth, I couldn’t finish the book. The idea of eating as many chocolate chip cookies scared the heck out of me. Now as I read her I see myself, how I’m not alone, and a way out of overeating.

I struggle with taking time for myself. It just seems too decadent. I also feel that if someone around me is busy, I’m supposed to be busy too. But its ok, I can read a book while my husband putters around the house. I deserve to have time to myself no matter what I did during the day.

Thats another one! I always feel like I have to be busy when someone else is. Chris and I split up chores and sometimes I get mine done while he is at work. When he FINALLY does his, I feel the need to get up and clean too because I feel guilty for not working even though I did already.

Im done with that crap! šŸ™‚

Love Geneen Roth books!!! And I have to read a book in the old fashioned way. I can’t do the screen thing.

If I hear about a NJ woman getting arrested for misdemeanor this weekend, I’ll know it might be you! šŸ˜‰

Have fun! šŸ™‚

Good, then you can be the first one to bail us out! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

