Balancing Val

No Choice But Self-Care

Posted on: September 15, 2010

I obviously have a million things flying through my head since I have been accepted to Natural Gourmet Institute and will be going in less then 2 months! There has been one thought that’s been shining through all of the craziness and it seems to have a stronger presence then the rest of my thoughts. Its clear now that is that its coming from my Inner Voice

I started thinking about how incredibly busy I am going to be physically and emotionally. I need to keep up 2 days of commuting, studying, reading, practicing cooking, along with a full-time job. Not to mention all of the things I am doing now like dishes, cleaning, laundry, finances ect. Oh, and in case you we’re wondering, blogging will have plenty of time while I’m on the train 😉 *slaps high five to 3G*

I envision myself ragged and tired and always on the go. I see no time for fun things in my life (though I consider the school fun, thankfully). I see stress, financial worries and no ENERGY. This scares me 😦

Now, maybe I’m greedy . . . But I want it all! I want to be a top student. I want to contribute and show them ALL I GOT. I also want to stay on top of things at work. I want to keep up with things in the apartment. I want to keep up with my relationships with Chris, family and friends. I still want to do fun things with the tiniest bit of money I will have, if any.

Me: How am I going to do this?

Inner Voice: Well, the only way your going to do this all is by making sure you take care of yourself. In fact, if nothing else, as a student . . . You have no CHOICE but to take care of yourself!

That is absolutely correct. Above all else, I must find time to take care of myself.

I must create time to exercise my body in a way that is enjoyable.

I must take DAILY time to sit in silence with my thoughts.

I must live in every moment I get to spend time with the people I love.

I must feed my body in a way that will give me strength, energy and emotional well-being.

My body and mind are the vehicle that will be getting me where I need to go. I must bring fourth the best in order to handle everything going on in my life.

Something is clicking here. This is something that I am choosing to do for MY life. For once, I’m not on anyones watch and I am FULLY responsible for my success or failure here. For once, I feel like I have a profound reason to start taking care of me.

THIS is priority #1 and it must start NOW!

8 Responses to "No Choice But Self-Care"

It’s great that you feel like you have a great reason and see the importance of taking care of yourself. Youve got goals and you plan to accomplish them! Congrats!~

Your inner voice is very wise!

Sounds great! I wish you all the best, Val! 🙂

Thank you! 🙂

Thanks for coming in and sharing your thoughts. I will be stopping by your neck of the woods soon!

Congrats on the acceptance in to your school! Sounds very exciting! Also, on this post. I really needed that reminder today. Thank you!

No problem Sam 🙂

I am learning that I don’t want to compromise on my sleep/eating well/exercising anymore due to all of the negative life patterns I’ve created. I want to nurture myself.

I’m right there with you! It’s time to put ourselves first and take care!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

