Balancing Val

Labor Day Weekend Grind

Posted on: September 6, 2010

It’s been a long while since I have had 3 days off in a row. It was such a great feeling on Sunday night when I’d normally be sulking, that I had another full day off! And not just any old day off . . . Today is my Dads 50th Birthday!

Happy Birthday Dad!

Let me share some of the things I did this weekend . . .

WARNING: Lots of Random Pictures Ahead

I Had a bunch of laughs with friends at a bonfire while drinking my favorite Sam Adams beer.

I attempted to start drawing cool header ideas for my blog.


I got some quality time hanging out with old man Ozzy at my parents house.


I got my hands on my first pumpkin spiced latte of the season and accompanied it with a delicious pumpkin scone. Yum! 🙂

Went shopping with my sisters so they can get a birthday gift for Dad.


Waded through a mountain of chocolate, butterscotch, and peanut butter chip pancakes and a home made breakfast quiche for Dad’s birthday breakfast.


Ate a few bites of ‘chocolate death-cake’ and gave dad a gift certificate to Mortons Steakhouse along with this candy that he hates as a joke.


I also was able to take 2 naps outside this weekend, started reading a book by Dave Ramsey, went for a 5 mile walk/jog around reservoir and finish my laundry. Well, it still has to be ironed 😦

I’m pretty upset with myself because really didn’t feed myself well. It’s not so much that i ate food that was ‘bad’ but I wasn’t really listening go my hunger and fullness signals at all. I don’t want to sound diet-y by saying ill be good tomorrow, but that’s how I feel.

I’m going to focus on the WHY though. Maybe I’m stresses out about something and i don’t even know it!

Now I’m off to bed with a cup of my favorite Sleepytime Tea. Might get up early for a run then back to the daily grind.

What did you do this weekend?

BlogPress from my iPad

7 Responses to "Labor Day Weekend Grind"

Holy pancakes! those look phenom!

Oh they were. I could only eat one! It was literally a cake! And the warm multi-flavored chips kicked it up a notch 🙂

Happy 5-0 to your Dad!!!! Between those pancakes & that chocolate cake – h.e.a.v.e.n : ) That would be a very very happy birthday for me!

Looks like you had a wonderful weekend. Even eating intuitively isn’t perfect all of the time – I am learning that! Life happens, some days are just made for lots of good food ; ) As long as you truly enjoyed the weekend, then there is no need to “start over”…just move on to the next moment.

Love that Sleepytime tea. My husband is pretty jealous over that amazing stack of pancakes.

Some days you eat more intuitively than others. Just pay attention to see if you notice any patterns for why your aren’t following your hunger/fullness.

Oh and very cute pug!

Ahh, 3 day weekends are nice! I went to a concert (haha-yes, again) and at home cooked and cleaned and just relaxed.

Usually weekends for me wither involve going out, then no down time/productive time, or down time/productive time, and no going out–3 days allows me to do both!

You know I’ve never had a pumpkin spice latte? They sound so good…hmmm

Pumpkin Spice Latte…welcome fall!! Those pancakes look AMAZING!! Glad you had a good, long weekend…we all need those once in a while.

Happy Birthday to your dad!! I love Sam Adams cherry wheat, so good!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

