Balancing Val

Dare To Be Different

Posted on: September 3, 2010

This morning I tried something crazy. . .

I had some oats. Yes, I know that’s not crazy, but do you know what I added to them?

Its not almond butter . . .

Its not any kind if fruit . . .

Its not chia seeds either . . . .

It’s . . . . ICE CREAM

Yeah, i went there, and maybe this has already been done before, but I have definitely never heard of it. Last night, we ended up going to Target for a few things and I was craving ice cream. Technically I was craving gelato but they didn’t have the flavor I wanted. So, inspired by Caroline I picked up a container of rocky road.


This morning for whatever reason, I thought it was a good idea go try on my oats . . . and it was. It tasted like a dessert cobbler type thing. The cool ice cream and the hot oats married well together. The great thing is, i really didn’t use much ice cream for it. I did put some peanut butter in there though.


Now, im not going to do this often probably, but I can’t think of a better way to describe balance! And the possibilities are endless. What about vanilla ice cream with some apple cinnamon oats, or pumpkin ice cream to make like a pumpkin pie flavor?

Have you every tried a weird combination that ended up working out? Any good ideas on flavor combinations?

1 Response to "Dare To Be Different"

Yum!

I strike out more than win with my oat toppings. However I once put chocolate chips, coconut, and dried cherries and it was pretty tasty.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

