Balancing Val

Thursday . . All Mine

Posted on: September 2, 2010

Fall work hours are in full effect. For me, this means working 3 full days on Monday, Wednesday, Friday (7:30am – 7:30pm) with a little break in between. Oh and Saturday mornings for a few hours most of the time. Anyway, the point is . . . unless there is a meeting . . . I have Thursdays off!

But this is not a typical day off filled with commitments and errands and all that junk. This is a REAL day off where I can choose to do my laundry, or not. I can sleep in, or get up at the crack of dawn for a beach workout. I can have a nice meal out with Chris, or see a movie . . . Or I can make a complete mess of my kitchen trying new recipes and evil creations . . . MUHAHAHAHA 😈

Now I’m sure the novelty will soon wear off and I will be scheduling some crap and getting a routine down. But for now, let’s enjoy this Thursday shall we?

Today I . . . .

Did NOT sleep in– yeah, things took a turn for the worse after I posed along side my box of tissues. I felt the worst ever. I think a big thing is that the guy that lives upstairs smokes and it’s been really bothering me. Isn’t there laws against that? I had a cup of sleepy time tea and had sleepless night. Work was hard to get through, but I did it, and I think my major adjustment helped. I decided to sleep in instead of going to workout at the beach with mom, but I ended up getting up at 5:21am and started my winding journey through the blogosphere with a swamp smoothie in hand (blueberries, spinach, almond milk, hemp protein, agave nectar)

After what felt like ten minutes (but was really like 1.5 hours), I decided to get some things done such as draining tofu, cleaning dishes, prepping for dinner. I finally settled enough to have a cup of my favorite coffee and have 2 Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies that I unfroze and popped in the toaster oven. I’m still so puzzled at how there was only enough dough for a couple cookies when I know I froze a lot more dough 😉 Either way, I made sure I ate them in my star pajama pants.


Went to the resivuor for a workout ALONE – I used to do this all the time years ago. Lately I haven’t gone alone though. It really wasn’t a good workout. I did not realize how hot it was . . . 97! All I had in me was a swamp smoothie, the cookies and coffee. I didn’t drink much water either. By the 2nd mile I started getting lightheaded. I trucked on though and got some jogging intervals in but mostly walking. I did 5 miles in 1:27.


Made an interesting dinner for Chris and I – I planned to make stuffed peppers using the leftover turkey meatloaf I had in the freezer. I realized that cooking already cooked meat wasn’t going to turn out so well so chopped up all the ingredients and simmered it in marinara. I served mine over quinoa and Chris’s over pasta.

Paid the rent – yeah this one is important 😉

All in all, I’m satisfied with the day. I don’t often have a day where I at least ‘feel’ like i can do anything I want, so we shall see how long it takes for the novelty to wear off.

Long day of work ahead. Oh and the hurricane is supposed to give this part of the state some wind, heavy rain, and surf. I’m going to try to unplug and maybe read a book with REAL pages, or get some stuff at Target, or give myself a manicure. Hmm. . . .

What is it that you end up doing when you have ZERO commitments?

7 Responses to "Thursday . . All Mine"

I get up to no good when I have zero commitments.

Well, “no good” usually consists of watching tv and reading all the blogs I have bookmarked on my computer. I really should let all the blogs sit and be productive–doing all the things I say I will do like make granola or finish reading books I’ve borrowed from people.

What??? A day off without commitments? I don’t know what that is??

I can say that I bought my new running shoes today. So now I don’t just have to walk because my sneakers are old and uncomfortable. Tomorrow…I run…in the hurricane!!

Whohoo! Now let’s get training for that probably non existent 401k hehe

Having a day to myself to do whatever would be heavenly. Definitely something you should enjoy!

Hi Tina!

I’m going to try and enjoy it for as long as I can before I start filling it with things I MUST do.

Your day sounds awesome! Every Sunday is my absolute ZERO commitment day and I.love.it. Usually I just chill and do absolutely nothing for the entire day. Like, I really do nothing. At all. I’ll laze about in my pajamas and read, blog, watch movies.. it’s nice. 😀

That sounds AWESOME! Nothing like going to bed in what you woke up in 😉

Leave a Reply

    • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
    • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
    • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

    Follow Me! @BalancingVal

