Balancing Val

So, When Do I Start Craving Healthy Crap?

Posted on: September 1, 2010

Let me just point out that the title of this post is merely just meant to be funny . . . .

I want to start out by explaining my first week of true intuitive eating. After I read the book, I immediately felt a HUGE weight lifted off my shoulders. I was on a cloud and I saw the world in a whole different light. I was excited about the little things, the possibilities, the places I could go and every living moment was filled with joy. For one week, I accepted the place I was at in my life. I was hyper-conscious of listening to my body and fed it what it wanted and exactly how much. Life was good and it showed.

Then . . . It wore off.

Lucky for me, that week left a footprint so big that i was changed enough forever, but things have never been like that first glorious week. So what gives? Well, my guess is that i was SO excited that things clicked for me so quickly after such a short period of time that I thought I was cured. What I realize now is that the hyper-conscious state I was in, and the excitement of a new world was in fact, a distraction of the true issues going on. Don’t get me wrong, life has changed dramatically, I don’t binge anymore, I don’t really put labels on food, and I can’t remember the last time I actually stuffed myself to the point where I was a 10 on the all mighty hunger scale.

But, I do still find myself slipping back into some old habits sometimes by not eating what I truly want, and and slowing down enough to honor fullness, and using food sometimes to cure other things rather then hunger no matter if what I’m trying to cure is deep and involved, or as simple as boredom. So I question why?

I notice that when I see or read about people that have been through the same thing . . . The people that are past the huge hurdles and are closer than i am to loving and accepting themselves are feeding themselves well. The people that have ‘released’ all or most of their excess weight because they love themselves enough to take care of themselves. Most of their meals are healthful foods like fruits, vegetables, nuts & seeds, whole grains ect. Don’t get me wrong, I obviously love these foods and i know they dont eat like this all the time, I know that I am just making a general statement. I’m really not trying not to compare myself to others again either. I’m just wondering why I’m not there yet. What is holding me back from myself?

Sure I eat healthy more often than not, but it doesn’t always come easy. Maybe I am still using food to punish myself? I’m sure there is deeper issues in there and I may even know what some or most of them are, maybe it’s that I have trouble processing them and moving on?

I think I need help. I don’t like asking for help, never have. Ive always been incredibly independent and never really showed weakness. Asking for help always meant weakness in my head. I never had anyone truly point on my issues and force me to work on them. I always tried to do it myself, or just take the easy way out and avoid them. Maybe I am weak though, at least when it comes to this, that’s ok right.? . . So maybe I should just get help so that I can be stronger. I deserve that don’t I?

Have any of you asked for help in this process of loving and accepting yourselves? or did you walk alone?

14 Responses to "So, When Do I Start Craving Healthy Crap?"

Girlfriend, I would not be where I am today without help! Support is a key competent of being healthy! I’ve worked with therapist (still see her), an ED RD, went to group therapy and worked with coaches. And that doesn’t include all the support I received online.

Walking alone doesn’t work!

Well I am at the point where I DO crave healthy foods…unfortunetly I DO still crave bad ones too. Like last night, after posting I totally went back for more ice cream and a handful of suggary cereal (Captain Crunch yo!)

It stinks because it feels so bad when you do overeat, but in that moment it always seems “worth it” and you can’t seem to remind yourself how bad you feel the next day. (at least for me)

I think boredom is a big part of it. But is hard to distract yourself consciously. Actually I am pretty sure it’s impossible.

Take comfort in the fact that you are not alone, but also, that IT CAN BE DONE.

You are absolutely right. There is comfort in knowing that it can be done, and believe me it will. I just think that i have to finally get some help though.

I’m a life cereal girl. Or cinnamon toast crunch! Oh, and the Halloween cereals are coming! I ❀ cereal 😳

I feel like I am mainly doing it alone. The only person in real life who knows is my husband. I am fortunately that my husband does help me. Right now we are keeping binge foods out of the house and he’s OK with that. He did mention going to Wendy’s for frostys is getting a bit expensive πŸ™‚ Baby steps right now.

I do crave healthy foods too. Just thought I’d mention that. I never binge on healthy food though.

That is great that you havent binged in 12 days!!! πŸ˜€
You should be very proud of yourself. It is great that you have support too from your husband. Certain blogs helped me a lot as well as some books. Especially the Intuitive Eating book.

Thanks so much for your support!

I truly dislike asking for help. I’m sure somewhere down the line it was impressed on me that I don’t need to ask for help, so I shouldn’t ask for help. I spent all last year trying to “fix” myself alone with IE and it didn’t go so well. Finally, in May I had a huge whack upside the head and met a few people who were welcome and opening enough to make me feel like its ok if I ask for help.

Still its hard–I don’t want to seem like a pathetic, needy, annoying person when I should “know better.”

But its BS. Ask for help, because there are people around who are willing and able to help you. Even if its for something stupid, just the confirmation you are doing the right thing will be helpful.

As for me, it took about 6 months of eating really crappy junk for me to start craving fruits and veggies. However, that doesn’t mean I actually started eating the fruits and veggies–my intake is still woefully low. I just take each day as it comes, do my very best to listen to my body, and then do my very best to give my body what it wants.

It’s weird . . . I don’t like asking for help, but I have no problem giving it to anyone that asks ME for help. Maybe I like to seem high and mighty? Or maybe i am just trying to be the over-achiever please everybody type. Hm.

I crave fruits and veggies and all that good stuff. The problem I’m having is that it’s not coming from a place of caring for my body all the time. Like I guess I don’t love myself enough to the point where I feed it well most of the time. Shouldn’t I want to?

I’m so over the eat crap stage in my head I want to move on!

Thanks for your thoughts, as always πŸ˜‰

See here I am giving advice again!

What changed for me, I was eating intuitively but feeling like rubbish. I was reading archives of Christie’s blog and began wondering if I had a food sensitivity. After talking with Christie I tried cutting out dairy and immediately started feeling better. If I do eat dairy, my symptoms come rushing back. That was the “a ha” moment. What I eat = how my body feels. I’m still not perfect, but I’m trying to think at every meal “ok, now what do I want to eat that will make me feel awesome?”

I hope that helps. I went through I long period of punishing myself with food but finally I reached a breaking point and decided I need to work on what I eat so I can start feeling better.

Your advice is welcome anytime!

You know, just a few years ago dairy started to bother me a lot. Not all of it, but milk, yogurt and ice cream. My boss says that dairy allergies start to develop then. Maybe I shall do a little experiment soon. Thanks for the tip. πŸ™‚

Which book are you reading? It sounds like it’s really working for you!

Hi there! Well, my journey started out with Bethenny’s Naturally Thin book. As soon as I read that, I realized there was a way out but I needed something more detailed. I bought Intuitive Eating and it seriously changed everything! πŸ™‚

Here’s the link to the book from Amazon . . .

http://www.amazon.com/Intuitive-Eating-Revolutionary-Program-Works/dp/0312321236/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1283385113&sr=8-1

I’ve never liked asking for help, but sometimes that’s what’s needed.

I want to say I mostly found my way to a healthy lifestyle on my own, but I got a lot of help from blogging. Not my blog. Other blogs. I find them so inspiring, and that made the transition so much easier for me.

I have been on the intuitive eating path since January when i read the book! It has had MANY ups and downs…. but in the last 9 months i have deff started feeling more comfortable! I hope everything works out for you… I have never really asked for help when it came to trying to love myself more, i usually struggle alone when i have my moments where i beat myself up about my body and food choices.. i read a lot of blogs and try and draw inspiration from them that i should accept myself just as i am!

I have the same issue! A week here and there of perfect, blissful intuitive eating and then weeks of struggling. I’m having the hardest time getting over the emotional eating hump.
Congrats on coming so far though! I think sometimes we forget to see the progress in the struggle. I focus on that fact that I overate, but I forget that I had exactly what I wanted, I rarely think badly about my body, and I don’t restrict anything anymore.
Intuitive eating isn’t a linear process, and that’s the hardest part! It’s not a diet, with a clear cut beginning and ending point.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

