Balancing Val

Do I Fit In Here?

Posted on: August 29, 2010

I really like writing stuff. I am always looking for a way to show my opinion on something or chime in on a topic that I find interesting. This is the 3rd blog that I have started with the main theme of ‘balance’. The first two failed because maybe I got ahead of myself and thought that I was knowledgable on the topic and that all of my posts should be teaching something about it. Of course, that didnt happen and when I came across a challenge, I didnt want to post anything because I felt that it would take things in the opposite direction.

I would like to call this a Healthy Living Blog , but sometimes I dont feel like I fit in. Mainly because when I look at most of them, I see the following trends . . .

* Runners
* RD’s, Health/Wellness Coaches
* Vegetarians & Vegans
* Amazing Travels
* Amazing Food/Restaurants
* Cute Little Dogs, Husbands and Apartments

Dont get me wrong, all of these things are very interesting to me and maybe I am a bit jealous of those things. But the point is that I really cant say that I harbor any of these trends in my daily life. Sometimes that makes me feel a bit inadequate, honestly. I feel like some bloggers have the perfect life. Sometimes I feel like people wont care about what I have to say because I feel like I am so different. I do know however, that this is just me being a little insecure and of course the feeling, or ANY feeling heightens in pms week when I am super emotional. I also know that I am not blogging for other people right? I shouldn’t be striving to be like anyone else. I mean isnt this supposed to be about me? Maybe in a sick way I feel like if I adopt some of these things, then I will finally feel like I am healthy?

Err . . . I am sure I will find my voice in time, it just feels like a bumpy ride, especially when I first start a blog. This is about the time I give up unfortunatley. Maybe something will click along the way if I keep trying. I mean, my life is about to change so rapidly when school starts that I am SURE I will have plenty of more exciting things to blog about, but for now . . . this is just me.

Me who . . .

* Can barely run more then 5min without stopping to walk
* Works for a Chiropractor
* Travels usually to the same places every time
* Is so incredibly random at times that who knows what post is going to pop up here
* Doesnt have a high tech camera to take awesome pictures of food
* Struggles with body image every day
* Doesn’t consistently exercise
* Eats meat on most days
* Is trying to find balance by digging through good bad and ugly

I just want to point out to not take offense of this post to anyone. This is not about anybody’s blog in specific. This is just me coming across the common trends in healthy living blogs and me realizing that I dont share most of them.

20 Responses to "Do I Fit In Here?"

I think the most important thing about a blog, it that it belongs to the individual who owns it. That it is their thoughts and feelings on whatever topic it is that they feel they need to discuss. Too often we get into comparing ourselves with others, and trying to keep up with what ever it is we think the “Joneses” have. If you have something that you feel needs to be said, and the only person who benefits from having said it – is you, then it was still worth while for you to have said it. First and foremost, this blog is about you, for you to get out of it what you need. We just get to be spectators as you discover yourself and life. And for what it’s worth, in just the couple of days that I’ve been reading your blog, I have found much worth!

In one comment, you have made my whole day. Thank you Sam πŸ™‚

I am a member of the healthy living blogs site although, I don’t really fit in with the mold either.

But, here is the awesome news about that.

I don’t want to.

I think that the definition of healthy living has been unnecessarily pigeon holed because healthy isn’t just about food and exercise. Being truly healthy requires health in mind, body and spirit and many, many, many of those blogs don’t portray that. I’d even venture to say that some of them portray disorder and lack of balance.

To me, I think it is blogs like ours that round out the healthy living niche.

Val, you are SO not alone in this! There are a lot of us that don’t fit the mold. Keep being your authentic self, stay true to your own voice, and you’ll find rhythm.

Just had to say ditto to other commenters here.

I so don’t want to fit in that I avoid naming the thing I want to do.

Thank you for being transparent and YOU. You are enough, just as you are.

CJ

Sometimes I feel the same way. Yes, I have a lot in common with some of those Healthy Living Blogs. I am “mostly veg” … and though I don’t have a fancy camera (it was $130!!) I can take a pretty mean food photo if I do say so myself! (And I would secretly love to fit into that last category with a cute husband/apartment/dog)

That said, I think it does take time to find your voice. And it can change. But for me blogging is the chance for confidence. I know that I don’t always have the body image that these young women preach. But maybe, just maybe, if I keep using this outlet to proclaim it too; I’ll find it in myself and believe it for myself. I am hoping anyway.

I totally agree with you and that is why I posted about it. I don’t give a CRAP about what other people write about and if I fit into the HLB arena at all. In fact, I would ARGUE that many of the HLBs out there are not HEALTHY. It’s about flushing through our lives and being healthy from the inside out. It’s NOT about weigh or almond butter or cute dogs. It’s about enjoying all of those for the right reasons.

You’re a HLB. Own it. Write from your heart!

hey girl – i just wrote a few posts like this about why i didn’t want to go to the healthy living summit.

just like you wrote in your more recent post, who are THEY to judge YOU? who’s to say you don’t have it right? the greatest people in history went against the grain, were alone, and outcast.

… not saying you’re alone, but you get what i’m saying? rock your life! you go, girl.

I just found your blog and I love your thoughts!! Keep it up πŸ™‚
I’ll definitely keep reading!

I just came across your blog and some others over the past week or two. I am loving them! I feel I actually stop and READ your posts. I tend to skim over the Healthy Living Blogs. I do enjoy seeing what healthy foods are available and I do try to incorporate some of the Healthy Living Blogs foods into my diet. Purely adding those foods into my diet still wasn’t helping me with my personal struggles with food. Your blog and other self help blogs I’ve found have helped me not binge for 12 days!

So keep the posts coming πŸ™‚ Maybe I will have a self help blog too someday.

FYI – I have not one, but TWO cute little doggies!

Hi! I just came across your blog and i wanted to say i really enjoyed this post! i feel the same way, even if for different reasons then you.. I have also tried blogging twice before and just gave up.. this time around im doing a little better because im doing it for me.. i think that helps a lot! Keep it up!

I hear you. I recently started a second blog because the first one just didn’t feel right anymore. I’ve gone from wannabe food blogger to an honest blogger who doesn’t seem to be getting many views and it’s frustrating! I think your honesty is great and I think there’s a lot more to healthy living than running and awesome food photos. It’s all in the process, and it looks like you’re learning!

McKella
http://handprintsoul.wordpress.com/

I think being different is what makes you great. You don’t have to be like everybody else to still be healthy. One thing I constantly remind myself is that people chose what to post on their blogs- that means you don’t see the bad stuff, the days they don’t exercise, they times they eat junk, they days they sit in their room & cry. Just because something seems great or perfect doesn’t mean it is.

I’m always searching for how I want to be heard- I know it’s important to be consistent, but I’m a random person. So maybe for me, random is consistent… ?

And I think it’s cool you work for a chiropractor πŸ˜‰

Random IS consistent! I can change from silly to serious in my posts but that is me and I have to go with it. You should too πŸ™‚

I just came across your blog and just wanted to say I identify with this post.

Sometimes what’s typically considered a “healthy living blog” bugs me. I’ve seen some bloggers who are already thin posting before and after photos and striving to be even thinner. Or obsessing over gaining a bit of weight, or stressing over not exercising an hour a day 6 days a week. Ugh.

I think it’s a good thing to not always fit the mold. It’s most important to be yourself.

I agree with everyone as well. Your own voice is what’s important in this.

The way I see it, everyone’s on a journey, and we’re all at different places. I know I looked more like a healthy living crazy athlete 10 pounds lighter, but that isn’t a healthy place for me. I can’t take pictures of all my food, because, that, for me, would be a return to highly disordered food behaviours. My therapist would frown on it πŸ™‚

I also think, there’s only some people that are comfortable sharing the dark stuff. We all have it in our lives and if a blog is all rainbows, lollipops and sunshine, it’s not telling everything. And that’s their choice too.

Keep on keeping on.

I absolutely agree on that. I fail to see the darkness in some of these blogs and I know its out there, they just choose not to post it I suppose. I think I write best when I am facing a challenge and I like to see good AND bad out there.

I love this post! your blog makes me smile, and besides. even if we don’t have x, y, or z, doesn’t mean we can’t start a trend, right? πŸ˜‰ keep your chin up and keep writing!

I honestly was laughing to myself while reading this because I notice the same things! I’m not a house owner, no cute dog, no fancy camera, try to run but can’t do it for long, etc. Yet, despite all that, I feel one of the most important things needed on a healthy lifestyle blog is honesty…and you have that! You’re an individual, your own person, and that shines through in your blog.
Sometimes I’ll read other blogs and think of how horrible my photography is or get down on myself for not posting as much as I can, but I do what I can do and hope that someone out there is influenced by it and that’s all that really matters to me!

Yeah I think that when I started this blog, I got scared because the highly successful ones all had the same things going on, but they seem to be lacking something important and I can’t truly put my finger on it.

Now whatever they got going on for them is obviously working, and I do love reading them, but that’s just not me. And thanks to you ladies, I am comfortable knowing that it’s ok! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

