Balancing Val

Harold’s Deli

Posted on: August 19, 2010

A few weeks ago, I took a little family road trip to Harold’s Deli in Edison NJ. If i could describe this place in one word, it would be well . . . MONSTER. This restaurant offers typical deli fare and desserts but at monster portions. I guess it goes without saying that the prices could be described as monster too, but for good reason.

Before our food came, we went up to the pickle bar which offered different flavors of pickles, rye & pumpernickel bread and my new favorite coleslaw known as “health salad”. This is basically coleslaw with the addition of tomatoes, peppers, onions and cucumber which are marinated in a sugar, vinegar and spice marinade overnite. I plan to replicate this very soon. Lil’ sis and I decided to split a corned beef sandwich while mom got an eggplant Parmesan hero and dad got a meatloaf parm hero.

Again, the amount of food given was ridiculous. So much so that we all shared each others food and all took some home. But it didn’t stop there . . . We also ordered some cheesecake and bread pudding. The bread pudding was nothing special . . . But the cheesecake as we joked about was “to die for”. We even came up with explainations about how to literally die for cheesecake but . . . Not the point.

All in all it was a great time and a good new experience. I, to my great surprise did not walk out of there stuffed to the max. I remember telling my dad about the first little sigh I take when I am starting to reach my comfortable limit. Once that sigh came out, i knew i only had a few more bites left before i hit uncomfortable territory. Hunger and fullness were both honored and believe me, it wasn’t easy to do this time . . . . Take a look!

.

3 Responses to "Harold’s Deli"

Awesome that you were able to be so aware of your hunger and fullness! Sometimes it really is a very fine line…just a bite or two can make all the difference. Way to go! πŸ™‚

wow! this Lil’ sis girl MUST be awesome!

Oh my gosh I’ve been there- I had one of their gigantic chocolate chip cookies- so good!

Leave a Reply

  • Ayla: My easiest dinner recipe? PB + banana sandwich. Takes 2 minutes which makes me a very happy girl.
  • kristisn: Yum! That looks like a great dinner.
  • Kate D: After two scarring experiences stuck in big city rush hour traffic (facing the wrong direction) while on vacation with my parents I totally understand

Follow Me! @BalancingVal

